Archive for Little Rock

Black History Month Honors: The Little Rock 9

Posted in Uncategorized with tags , , , , , on February 2, 2010 by James Field

“The Little Rock Nine were a group of African-American students who were enrolled in Little Rock Central High School in 1957. The ensuing Little Rock Crisis, where the students were initially prevented from entering the racially segregated school by Arkansas Governor Orval Faubus, and then attended after the intervention of President Eisenhower, is considered to be one of the most important events in the African-American Civil Rights Movement.”

The Black Nouveau Honors: 

Thelma Mothershed

Minnijean Brown

Elizabeth Eckford

Gloria Ray

Jefferson Thomas

Melba Beals

Terrence Roberts

Carlotta Walls

Daisy Bates (NAACP President)

Ernest Green

Their pride and bravery to oppose injustice and oppression will live in our hearts forever. Their legacy will live on.

James Field